NewsU :: Lousy Listeners

Image Credit: “Number 3” by Kyota

One of the many online resources for public relations students and professionals is Poynter’s NewsU. I recently took NewsU’s “Lousy Listeners” course. In this blog post, I’m going to use the three-pronged approach to talk about what I learned from this course.

  • What did you learn?

One thing I learned is to repeat back to a speaker what I think they said to me before giving my response. I also learned that listening helps build trust in a relationship. Another important piece of information I learned is that listening does not always translate to communicating.

  • What surprised you?

There were several things that surprised me. One was that paying attention to a speaker’s unvoiced emotions and what their body language is saying is just as important as listening to the words they are saying.

  • What do you want to know more about?

I want to learn more about the importance of listening in public relations. Many of the tips the “Lousy Listeners” course gave I can apply to more personal life, but there is a different type of listening required in the public relations field. One way I can learn more about this is following public relations professionals’ social media profiles and blogs.

I would recommend this course to anyone, regardless of their major, career goals or job. Other NewsU courses I would suggest are “Cleaning Your Copy: Grammar, Style and More,” “Build and Engage Local Audiences Online” and “Get Me Rewrite: The Craft of Revision.”

What are some tips you have for listening? What are some examples of how they have been effective for you? I’d love to hear about it.

1 Comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

One response to “NewsU :: Lousy Listeners

  1. Pingback: Lesson Learned |

Leave a Reply

