Trade Book Presentation :: Content Rules

I’ve had to face my fear of giving presentations (what kind of PR major am I?) lately and one of those instances included using the three-pronged approach to present my experience reading Content Rules: How to Create Killer Blogs, Podcasts, Videos, Ebooks, Webinars (and More) by Ann Handley and C.C. Chapman. Below is the Powerpoint I used to facilitate what I wanted to convey to fellow students and what I elaborated on for each point.

1. What did you learn?
*Content is king.
Original, interesting and relevant content is what drives people to blogs and websites maintained by businesses. Businesses have to offer information not found anywhere else. The monopoly they have on content will send people to their sites and blogs, which will ultimately increase sales and recommendations.
2. What surprised you?
*Know your audience.
In order to create relevant content, businesses need to know their audience(s). Before I read this book, the task of getting to know one’s audience(s) seemed daunting, so one thing that surprised me is the simplicity of the six questions Handley and Chapman say businesses should ask themselves when trying to determine who they should target.
3. What do you want to learn more about?
*This means war.
This is all well and good, but if you don’t work for a company that sees the importance of creating good content, then none of it matters. What I want to learn more about is how to convince one’s supervisors to jump on the content rules bandwagon.
All of this being said, I’d highly recommend this book.
What social media books have you read lately? Which of them would you recommend to others? What did you learn from them? I’d love to hear from you.
Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

