Guest Blogger: Liz Colburn of Randomly Ravishing

Every semester I look forward to featuring a guest writer on my blog. Why? I strongly believe that I’m surrounded by a multitude of talented bloggers, both in the professional and academic worlds. I love having the chance to showcase and share their work with others. I think it’s important that as bloggers we support each other because we’re in this thing together, which is part of what makes blogging so great.

Liz and I at an event in December of 2011.

I have the pleasure of featuring a post by Liz Colburn of Randomly Ravishing entitled “Scrape your Knee…Not my Blog.” I hope you enjoy this post as much as I did and will visit her blog on a regular basis. Thanks Liz!

“The one thing I heard most from all of my teachers elementary through high school was, “Write your own work – do not plagiarize!”  It is permanently embedded in my brain…so why would you do it in blogging?

There are people (and even machines) that are specifically told to find blogs and copy their material for their own blog.  My question to these people is, do you not have enough creativity to write your own blog?  And if not, then don’t blog!!!! Easy as that.

Although, if I was working in PR for a major fashion magazine and I stumbled across a competitor’s blog that was identical to what I wrote, what approaches would I take?

Well, for one, I would want to blow up their blog with nasty comments and report them to the “plagiarism police”! – BUT – I am not in fifth grade and there is no such thing (unfortunately).  However, I would take my time to cool off first and tell my superior what I discovered.

I would then decide to contact the competing company through their corporate office rather than commenting on the blog for everyone to see.  Commenting on the blog for all to see would not only come across as unprofessional, but it could hurt my magazine company’s reputation and give our readers a “bad taste” for our magazine.

So if you yourself are guilty of “blog scraping” go back and give the person you stole from some credit – all you have to do is link to their original blog, or formally ask them to be a “guest blogger” on your blog.  So if you really want to scrape something, scrape your  knee…not someone’s blog!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

