PR Student Blog Comments

1. “TOW #1: Gotta Keep up with the Trends!” by Emily Meade on 1/29/12

It’s fun to see how far we’ve come since our very first PR class. I think Pinterest is really impacting, and will continue to change, the way companies do business and how ideas are shared. It is definitely one of the biggest trends in social media right now and it’s easy to see why.

2. “DIY: Melted Crayon Art” by Liz Colburn on 1/29/12

This is definitely a project that I’ve been dying to try. It looks so simple. I absolutely love the new layout and look of your blog. You’re always posting something new and exciting. I’m looking forward to reading more posts from you this semester. Wishing you the best as you continue on your blogging journey 🙂

3. “An image says a thousand words” by Elizabeth Telg on 1/29/12

I’m glad I’m not the only one who stressed in my blog post about images the importance of giving credit to the photographer and/or the person who posted the photo. I always love the images you find and how they tie together your posts. I’m looking forward to reading more posts from you as the semester continues.

4. “FPRA February Meeting: Jim DeGannaro” by Emily Meade on 2/26/12

I always enjoy what the speakers at these luncheons have to say. I think it is helpful for us as students to be fed at this point in our careers and lives what professionals are listening to as well. I strongly believe in FPRA as a valuable resource for students and professionals alike. Going off of what Rachel said, I think there is a fine line between creating relationships with clients, journalists and professionals, and looking like you are doing your best to win them over through material means rather than your abilities. Maybe that is an issue we should look into more before we graduate and enter the field.

5. “Happiness in the Workplace” by Adrian Garza on 2/26/12

Great job on this post, Adrian. It is funny that you wrote this because I just read an article on skills PR students need to work in the industry, but typically do not think about (Here’s a link to it in case you are interested http://www.prdaily.com/Main/Articles/10901.aspx). I know of several other PR professionals who had careers in other, very different industries before switching over. They always have something to say about how they have used those experiences to better the services they provide to clients. That being said, not everyone in the industry originally went to school for and wanted to be in public relations. That is definitely a fact that makes the field so interesting and different.

6. “Lakeland’s newest gem” by Elizabeth Telg on 2/26/12

They are there on Wednesday’s, too, so a few of us girls from the office I intern at will walk down in the afternoon to get beignets. If you have not had their beignets before, you need to. They are like doughnuts, but better. Their booth is one of the cutest things I have ever seen. I love their style and they are so good at what they do.

7. “Introducing…” by Molly Dodd on 4/14/12

This post is so helpful, Molly. It is definitely information that can, and should, be used in all career settings, from PR to business. Public speaking in general can be intimidating, so having an outline to go off of for introducing a guest speaker can be someone’s best friend. Keep on bloggin’!

8. “Awkward Kristen- A Fellow Friend and Multi Media Journalist” by Molly Dodd on 4/15/12

That is too funny! It is amazing to me how the world of social media has opened up doors for many people and created so many opportunities for those who choose to engage in it. I have learned that you just have to embrace everything that comes your way and make the most of the opportunities you are given because you obviously never know where they might lead!

9. “Facebook is the New Resume Page?” by Emily Meade on 4/15/12

This is so interesting. It is crazy to me how much social media has changed our world. I do not think people fifty years ago would have seen this coming. I can only imagine the effect social media will have on the future if this is what is happening now, in our generation. For the sake of our careers, it sounds like those of us who are involved in social media will have to put more time and energy into attending to our profiles and accounts. Thanks for sharing this.

10. “TOW #7: Guest Blogger, Taylor Flumerfelt of PRestigious” by Emily Meade on 4/15/12

Thanks for the kind words and featuring me on your blog. It has been an absolute pleasure to work with someone who is as passionate about the world of PR as I am. I am excited to see what career-related doors God will open in our lifetimes. I know this is just the beginning of a wild, yet exciting, ride.

Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

