A College Student’s Social Media Life

I’ve had to keep up with a blog every semester that I’ve had Professor Nixon as an instructor and this post is always the first one that I write. Each semester it’s fun to see just how my use of social media has changed due to her courses and the experience I’m gaining in the PR world (If you refer back to TOW #1: My Social Media and Social Media’s Role in My Life, you can see just how far I’ve come).

The platform I use most often is still Facebook. It makes it easy to stay in touch with friends I went to middle and high school with, as well as family and church members. I love being able to share videos, articles, pictures, and much more, with ease and in a central location.

I took an unintentional sabbatical from Twitter, but I’m back in the game now. The biggest reason why I use Twitter is to follow PR pro’s. I like to see what they’re up to, what articles and technology has caught their eyes, any available internships and jobs they know of. Twitter truly offers a wealth of information.

Image Credit: “Social Media Monopoly” by Esther Vargas

I’m obviously a WordPress user. I used Blogger before I made a WordPress account and I’ve found WordPress easier to use. I mainly use WordPress for this class, but I’m also now using it at my internship to post press releases to Perfectly PR.

LinkedIn is another tool that I use. I have a LinkedIn profile because it’s an online resume. Who wouldn’t want to take advantage of that? As a Journalism/PR major, I’m all about networking and LinkedIn provides an opportunity to literally make new connections. I would highly advise all students to have a LinkedIn profile. It’ll be worth the ten minutes it takes to fill in your profile. This post will help you make the most of LinkedIn once you have an account.

I’m a YouTube junkie, but I’m more about watching other people’s videos than I am posting my own. I use it mostly for listening to music, watching clips from my favorite TV shows (like The Office), and watching tutorials for InDesign and other technology.

Last, but not least, I use Foursquare. I have the app on my phone, so I try to remember to check in when I visit restaurants, malls, movie theatres, etc.

Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

