Jeremiah 29:11

Even though I’m only in my second year at Southeastern University, I’m technically a junior, a member of the class of 2013. Next semester, I will have my first internship and start my “mini doctorate” thesis in order to graduate from the honor’s program. I have a year and a half left of school, but knowing that the first year and a half of college has flown by, I’m starting to think a little more about my post-graduation plans.

When I entered college, I immediately declared myself as a journalism/PR major, thinking that I wouldn’t go to graduate school and would eventually write for a magazine for a living. As I began to take PR courses and help plan local events, a love for PR developed. Within the past month or so, I’ve been giving serious thought to entering grad school right after I graduate from Southeastern. As I’ve begun the journey to finding the perfect grad school for me, several questions have crossed my mind that I’m hoping to get some answers for by writing this post (or maybe even just some consolation that I’m not the only one feeling overwhelmed).

Image Credit: “SJCA Diplomas” by drewsaunders

1. How do I find the perfect school for me? There are so many options. Some people may ask “well, how did you pick out a school for undergraduate? Conduct your search the same way.” Well, it’s not as easy as that. Southeastern was one of only two schools I visited, Florida Southern being the other college. During my visit at Southeastern, God clearly revealed that that’s where He wants me. Also, finding a school that offers a MA or MS in strictly PR is somewhat difficult. I have a feeling that I’ll be doing some traveling over the next year and a half to check out potential schools.

2. What’re the pro’s and con’s of an online program compared to the pro’s and con’s of an on-campus program? One of the many options available would be to live at home, working a full job, and completing my MA or MS online. Another option is obviously to leave home in order to take the in-classroom route.

3. If I choose the in-classroom option, is it as important to attend a Christian college for grad school as it is for undergrad? I guess this is more of a question I have to ask myself and figure out whether I’m ready to jump into the real world, which I’ll have to do eventually anyways. I’m open to hearing the wisdom and guidance of professors and many others regarding this issue.

4. What’re the pro’s and con’s of a professional or certificate program compared to the pro’s and con’s of a grad school program?

Image Credit: “outline” by purpletwinkie

Have you completed grad school? Do you intend to do so? What information have you found on the topic? I’d love to hear it!

Best wishes to you if you are currently in the same boat I’m in. Know that you’re not alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

