Why freelancing is for you.

It’s been almost a year since I entered the world of freelance journalism. I randomly applied to be a freelancer for a local publication, not knowing if positions were still available or if anyone would even read my email and look over my resume.

Image Credit: “Freelance” by James P. Morse

Little did I know that I was getting myself involved in something that has been so positive and beneficial to my journey as a Journalism/Public Relations major. I’ve loved every second of freelancing and I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially college students looking to go into journalism, public relations, and/or photography for these reasons:

  1. With most freelance opportunities, you are paid for the work you do. This is a pro for anyone, especially college students.
  2. Doing freelance pieces means that you are neither employed part-time or full-time, so there is not as large of a time commitment required.
  3. That being said, you have the choice to turn down or accept pieces that are offered to you. If the event conflicts with your schedule, you’re not obligated to change your plans to cover it.
  4. One of the obviously pro’s is that you gain experience in writing or photography, or sometimes both. In my case, I write the articles AND take the photos, which has really proved to be beneficial in honing my skills.
  5. All of the freelance pieces you write can be added to your portfolio, which will look good when you go to interview for any job.
  6. I’ve been to local events that I wouldn’t have otherwise attended so I’ve been able to see a different side of Lakeland and feel more a part of the community in which I live.
  7. As a result of that, I’ve made numerous  connections that wouldn’t have been created if it hadn’t have been for freelancing.

I hope this inspires you to look more into writing for local publications and to seek out opportunities that you may not have previously considered.

2 Comments

Filed under Tips & Information

2 responses to “Why freelancing is for you.

  1. Great post, Taylor! I have never really given freelancing much thought before. But such a great idea! I really wish I had known sooner so I could’ve been building my portfolio sooner (considering I graduate in May) but I think I’m going to try to get some freelancing next semester. Any suggestions where or how to get freelancing opportunities?

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Mid Day Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

