TOW #9: Be My Guest

This post is centered around guest bloggers. The blog post I’m featuring is not only from someone I immediately clicked with when I started college, but is also about a topic that I think many college students don’t need to take lightly.

“Social Media CAN land you a job!” by Emily Meade of PRetty in Pink

Image Credit: “Cotton Headed Ninny Muggins” from Bad Pitch Blog

One of the authors of Bad Pitch Blog, Kevin Dugan, write an article “Bad Pitch’s ‘Bazaar’ Holiday Present” on December 17, 2010 conveying information he had received from one of his followers.  A reader, Ian Greenleigh, who is currently Bazaarvoice’s Social Media Manager, wrote authors of Bad Pitch Blog to thank them about helping attain this elite career position! One of their posts was able to launch Ian into the process of gaining a job in a time of need. In the post, Kevin outlined the steps Ian took from reading their article to landing the job.

In today’s society, it’s all about who you know! Networking, networking, networking. Even if that means networking with individuals who you’ve never even met before! I think blogging is a wonderful way to not only communicate but also create connections with people that can link you to the right resources!

3 Comments

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

3 responses to “TOW #9: Be My Guest

  1. Good luck to you. Glad you liked the BadPitch piece. Cheers.

  2. This is very true. Today it is all about who you know! I try to be involved in as many things as possible just because I know that some where down the line, having known someone from now could help me land a job in the future. There is no guarantee, but the chances are definitely favorable. Also, good blog by Emily.

  3. emmyjoy

    Thank you so much for using my post! It is very true. Being a part of Florida Public Relations Association has opened many windows of opportunities for us to network! As I learn more about the field of public relations, especially, I realize the importance of knowing those in your field but also how social media is contributing to the networking world! Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

