TOW #7: What’s the meaning of all this chatter?

Twitter chats are becoming increasingly popular. They are composed for a solid block of time in which Twitter users can tweet back and forth about various issues.

Out of a list of “13 Twitter chats for #PR pros” by Higher and Higher, I chose to participate in the PR 2.0 Chat.

This specific chat is geared towards anyone who is interested in public relations. The purpose of this chat is to inform participants about a number of public relations issues. Participants can ask any question that pertains to public relations and any person that wishes to reply, can.

Image Credit: “Maxime Dinaux : Speech balloon” by Marc Wathieu

So, what did I learn from this Twitter chat? I’ll approach this question using the three-pronged approach from Public Relations Matters.

  1. What did you learn?: I learned that not every company is convinced that social media is helpful or “for” them. I previously thought that by now, after social media existed for a few years, that every business has already assessed the value of using social media. Several of the participants offered solutions to what can be considered a problem. Many of them suggested that employees explain the basics of social media to the higher-ups, while others suggested compiling real-life examples of specific companies in whichever industry that have advanced to higher levels due to social media.
  2. What surprised you?: For some reason, I was surprised by the question “How do you handle bosses/clients who expect you to be available 24/7? Do you suck it up or draw the line?” It is a question that I have already had to grapple with as a student and leader, but I did not realize the importance of it as it pertains to my future career. I think it’s an issue that all employees feel like comes about in their career at one point or another.
  3. What do you want to know more about?: I want to hear a larger variety of answers and a range of personal encounters with the question above. I am not the type of person that easily and willingly deals with conflict, so I want to have an idea in my mind of how to address that problem before it even becomes an issue.
Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

