Blog Comments

#1: “Social Media CAN land you a job!” by Emily Meade, 2/4/11

I love that this is just one example of the tangible evidence of only one of the many perks of social media. I think that a lot of people overlook the importance of not only using social media, but also using it effectively, in a way that will optimize their potential. I also love the picture!

#2: “Say SOMETHING!” by Emily Meade, 2/4/11

I like that this list of tips includes number 3. I think some bloggers go overboard with trying to get themselves noticed through comments. Comments are really meant for the author, so it’s great to be  reminded every once in a while to offer the author helpful advice, while being kind,  instead of leaving something that revolves around you.

#3: “Tricky Little Things…” by Emily Meade, 2/4/11

I’m glad you researched what a canard is because I had never heard of that before! Thanks for bringing that to light and teaching me something new! I like the way you differentiate between “affect” and “effect” because it’s easy to remember. The way to make family names plural is one of those things writers tend to shy away from, but it’s honestly easier than it sounds.

#4: “Hanes= Child labor.” by Heather Davis, 2/4/11

Wow, most people probably do not know anything about the child labor that is happening with this company. This topic is really unique. I think it’s important for consumers to have knowledge of the production process, especially when it involves extreme practices such as these. Thanks for researching  and posting this!

#5: “PR failure?” by Heather Davis, 2/4/11

I like that you not only featured these failure-inducing circumstances, but how you also related them to real-life events that have hit the front pages of newspapers everywhere. It’s also an interesting topic because a lot of times, we see PR professionals that write posts about things that lead to PR success. It’s easy to forget that there are quite a few ways in which failure can occur, as well.

#6: “Egypt.” by Tiffany Hobby, 2/4/11

Thank you for clarifying what is going on. I have not been able to sit down and sift through news articles to get to the heart of the matter. This is serious time not only for Egypt, but for the world. I believe this will affect every country in one way or another and dramatically alter history.

#7: “Topic of the Third Week” by Tiffany Hobby, 2/4/11

I really like the tips you found from YouThink! I especially like “Don’t assume that using smilies are a way to soften the insulting comment” and “pay attention to the language you use.” Since blogging is obviously not conducted face to face, sometimes comments can be taken the wrong way. Without being able to read body language, authors can take comments in a way that was not meant by the commenter. By following these guidelines, though, commenters should be able to steer clear of any problems.

#8: “Always Room for Improvement” by Emily Meade, 2/16/11

I saw this article yesterday on PR Daily and immediately knew I wanted to complete at PR Connection post on it. You beat me to it! I’m really glad you featured this article because the tips given in it can really truly to anyone in any field. These are basic tips and elements that are timeless and should serve as the foundation of the work of all writers.

#9: “The way I work today” by PRPro, 2/22/11

I had never heard of several of the websites mentioned in this post and I didn’t know the benefits of the Google Chrome Browser before now. I enjoy posts that open me up to new PR resources. I really like how you showed how you centralize your everyday tasks into one place. There are a lot of great resources for PR pros, but some professionals do not know how to use them effectively and in a way that saves time.

#10: “5 reasons PR pros still need traditional media” by Elena Verlee of Ragan, 2/22/11

This is a good reminder for all PR pros. Social Media has its benefits, but also its drawbacks. It’s a phenomenon that some pros can get caught up in. Traditional media sources, though, are always reliable and have obviously caused success for PR since they remain categorized as “traditional media sources.” I really like they you included the point about status. For a PR pro, having something featured by a newspaper or magazine definitely looks better than having it featured by a blogger in cyberspace.

#11: “10 ways to stop procrastinating and get your writing done” by Daphne Gray-Grant of Ragan, 2/22/11

I really like this article. It offers tips that can definitely be applied to several fields. As a college student, this article contains great tips that I can use in my writing, as well as journalism and public relations classes. These are timeless tips that students will be able to take from the classroom to the work place  and professionals can keep in mind as they move from job to job.

#12: “Twitter News” by Andrew Potter, 2/25/11

Thanks for this post. I think it’s easy for Twitter users and users of other social media sites to automatically assume that everything they read is valid. It’s easier to take someone at their word then look it up for ourselves. This is definitely a good reminder to keep our eyes and ears open when it comes to passing on information from social media sites as true.

#13: “Thou Shalt Not Steal” by Andrew Potter, 2/26/11

I realized as I was reading this post that I titled my post like this in the same way…and for all posts for it to happen with, it was one about plagiarism. I think we all feel the same way about plagiarism, especially when it comes to our careers and the professional work we’ll be doing in the future.

#14: “Think COMEBACK!” by Emily Meade, 2/26/11

This example really shows how far social media has come. It’s also just one instance when social media could be used to a company’s advantage. Some might say it was sly, but I think it was a clever way to regain the favor of Taco Bell customers and secure a positive image for the sake of gaining new customers.

#15: “Got Professionalism?” by Heather Davis, 2/26/11

I really liked that you highlighted the importance of learning AP Style for the purpose of getting a job. The video is a great starting point for anyone that does not know anything about AP Style. I liked that you gave some examples of the information that can be found under several sections of the AP Stylebook that we flagged in class. Great post!

#16: “Tips for New Bloggers” by Heather Davis, 4/15/11

This is a great post. I love that you mentioned a lot of things that I did not think of when I wrote my ten tips. There are so many little details that contribute to the success of a blog and you hit the nail on the head. I’m sure there will be plenty of future public relations students who will find these tips helpful!

#17: “TOW #7: It’s a Tweet Date. 🙂 “ by Emily Meade, 4/15/11

I love the way you started this article off. It was fun and fresh. I always enjoy visiting your blog because I know it is professional, concise, and up-to-date. Keep up the good work! I agree with you when you say that you hadn’t taken part in a Twitter chat before this course. I’ve definitely learned that Twitter chats are valuable resources and I hope to make them apart of my “pr regime” throughout the summer and into next semester.

#18: “TOW #9: As the Candlestick Says, ‘Be Our Guest!'” by Emily Meade, 4/15/11

I’m honored that you used my post! Thank you. The way you tied in Beauty and the Beast with the topic of this post was absolutely genius. The cleverness of your writing always makes me want to read on. I’m looking forward to working more closely with you next year on FPRA. You of all people know that I’m all about doing whatever it takes to prepare for our careers!

#19: “20 things every PR pro should know” by Ragan, 4/15/11

This post is extremely helpful. I don’t think the achievement of success in the PR field can be boiled down into one formula, but these cover all the bases. As a PR student, this is useful to me because it helps me see what I can start doing now to prepare for my career. Some of these tips I would’ve never thought of and many of these resources I wouldn’t have been able to find on my own. Thank you for the information!

#20: “Grammar Girl’s tips for effective proofreading” by Ragan, 4/15/11

This is an extremely useful post, not just for those who work in journalism or public relations, but honestly anyone who has a job and/or goes to school. And that’s a pretty large portion of Americans. These tips seem easy and quick enough, but still effective at the same time. I plan on implementing these tips in my college classes. Thank you for the information!

#21: “The Value of Podcasts for PR Students” by Amber Sakis, 4/15/11

I really enjoyed this post. After reading it, I want to listen to the podcast that you mentioned about the interview with Elizabeth Wargele. I think books like that are interesting and can provide students with direction once they know where their strengths and weaknesses lie. I’ve never listened to any of The Creative Career podcasts, but I want to start since they seem like such valuable resources for students.

#22: “6 Ways Social Media IS a Lifestyle” by Little Pink Book PR, 4/15/11

This is a great post. I think it can be hard for people to grasp the fact that social media is a way of life, even those who are new to the public relations field. I’ve learned that once you’re in it, you’ve got to stick it through and remain committed. I’m sure some people would say that it sounds like too much trouble and something that takes up a lot of time, but the amount and capacity of programs that are available now that can schedule updates makes social media even more user-friendly.

#23: “Transparency, QR codes, & LinkedIn” by Bad Pitch Blog, 4/15/11

This post was an interesting read. I like that you encouraged readers to be transparent as well as gave a real-life example of the power of transparency. As a PR student, these are very helpful tips and it’s good to know that future employers will appreciate transparency on resumes and social media profiles. Thanks for the info!

#24: “How to Avoid Becoming a Content Farm” by John Cass of PR Communications, 4/15/11

I had no clue that any of this was going on, so thank you for the information. This is definitely a change that is already having a widespread effect on the public relations field and how businesses build their web presences. These are great tips for anyone that is interested in SEO or gaining new clients through the internet.

#25: “True Believers: Should A PR Person Stand for Something?” by Jim Crawford of PR Breakfast Club, 4/15/11

I strongly believe that this is an important topic for PR practitioners to flesh out among themselves. As I’ve worked with PR professionals who have firms in the area surrounding the university I attend, I’ve already seen just in a few months that decisions surrounding this topic need to be backed by experience. Personality differences also play a role in the decision to go against what is ethical to keep a client or remain true to oneself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Southeastern University Coursework

Leave a Reply

